Annual Award and Past Winners


The Annual Outstanding Achievement Award is intended to recognize local members of the Baltimore-Washington area research community, who have (a) made an outstanding contribution to the theory, methods, or applications of survey research, public opinion research, market research, or other related fields, or (b) substantially contributed to the vitality, strength, and spirit of the local research community.

a) Nomination Process
To nominate someone for the award, please send an electronic copy of your nomination to

In your nomination, please be sure to include:

  • The nominee’s name, affiliation, and contact information
  • Your name, affiliation, and contact information
  • A brief description of how the nominee exemplifies the award criteria as outlined above

You will receive confirmation that your nomination has been received.

b) Eligibility
Eligibility is open to all Baltimore-Washington area members of the research community. However, only members of DC-AAPOR are eligible to submit nominations. To become a member, please visit the DC-AAPOR website at

c) Selection Process
The DC-AAPOR Executive Council will select the winner by a majority vote of the Executive Council and Past President.

d) Award
The winner will be recognized with a commemorative plaque and an honorary lifetime membership in DC-AAPOR. The award will be announced at the DC-AAPOR Annual Holiday Party.

e) Past Recipients
The past Annual Outstanding Achievement Award winners are:

  • Polly Phipps (2019)
  • Jaki S. McCarthy (2018)
  • Eileen O’Brien (2017)
  • Stephen Blumberg (2016)
  • Brian Harris-Kojetin (2015)
  • Gordon Willis (2014)
  • Nancy Bates (2013)
  • Stanley Presser (2012)
  • Adam Safir (2011)
  • Clyde Tucker (2010)
  • Scott Keeter (2009)
  • Jennifer Rothgeb and Robie Sangster (2008)
  • Helen Crossley (2007)

Previous DC-AAPOR members honored with lifetime membership, although not as part of the Annual Award, include Karol Krotki, Bill Nicholls, and Bernard Roshco.